notified-icon Get Notifications

Board of Trustees

tbraunTim Braun 2012

Timothy J. Braun
2004 to present

Timothy Braun is serving his fourth term as Saginaw Township Supervisor. Prior to his election in 2004 as Supervisor, Tim served the past 20 years as Township Clerk and as a member of the Saginaw Charter Township Board of Trustees. He has also been an educator in the Saginaw Township Community Schools for 34 years and is now retired. Tim has a B.A. in Education from SVSU, a M.A. in Guidance and Counseling from CMU, and a second M.A. in Educational Administration from SVSU. Tim is active in several community organizations including Saginaw Northwest Kiwanis, the Fordney Club, the S.A.L. at American Legion Post 439, the 100 Club, Saginaw County Right to Life, and Saginaw Field and Stream. He is also an active supporter of the Can-Amera Games and for the past 15 years has worked on the Saginaw 7-Eleven Soccer Tournament. Tim joined the STBA Board in December 2001, and is the Government Affairs Liaison.

1984-2004 Elected Clerk


sgerhardt 2012

Steven G. Gerhardt
2012 to present

Steven G. Gerhardt is serving his second term as Saginaw Township Treasurer after serving three terms as Trustee. He is retired volunteer fire fighter with the Saginaw Township Fire Department after 27 years of service, where he held the position of Safety Officer for Station #3. Gerhardt also serves on the Saginaw County Sheriff Department's Support Services division and holds the position of Lieutenant in the division. Gerhardt owns a design and marketing company and also a communications consulting business. 


Shirley M. Wazny
2004 to present

Shirley Wazny is serving her fourth term as Saginaw Township Clerk. She has a Business Administration degree from Northwood University and has recently completed a Certificate in Executive Business Management from Notre Dame. Shirley has completed the requirements for the designation of Certified Municipal Clerk (CMC) awarded by the International Institute of Municipal Clerks(IIMC). She has also received the designation of Certified Michigan Municipal Clerk(CMMC) awarded by the Michigan Association of Municipal Clerks(MAMC). She serves on the Finance, Facilities and Art committees for Saginaw Township and is on the Board of Inforum - Women in Leadership Great Lakes Bay Region. Memberships include: Saginaw County Clerk's Association, Michigan Association of Municipal Clerks, IIMC (International Institute of Municipal Clerks), the Optimist Club, Graduate of 1,000 Leaders, Leadership Saginaw and Citizens Police Academy.



Florence P. Connolly
2004 to present

Florence Connolly is self-employed as a manufacturers' representative and has previously been elected to several positions in the community. Connolly is a current Saginaw County auditor and member of the County Plat Board. She held a seat on the Saginaw Township Board of Education from 1977-93 and was chair of the Saginaw County Republican Party from 1996-2000. She is also a member of the administrative and finance committee at St. Stephen Catholic Church. Her prior community involvement includes the Saginaw Valley Rotary Club, the United Way of Saginaw County board, the Junior League of Saginaw Valley and the National Ski Patrol at Apple Mountain. She attended Smith College in Northampton, MA and Bradford College in Haverhill, MA.



James S. Kelly
2007 to present

James Kelly was appointed to the Saginaw Township Board of Trustees on June 25, 2007 to serve out the unexpired term of Richard Neiderquill (deceased).  James Kelly is retired from 1st State Bank, 5424 State St., Saginaw Township, where he was employed as Vice President, Office Manager.  Kelly has served as an Election Inspector, on the Compensation Commission and the Board of Review.  He also is past director of the Saginaw Township Business Association, co-chairman of the PRIDE-Positive Results In a Downtown Environment - Christmas Parade Committee, and former president and director of the Optimist Club of Saginaw.
Gorney Lori 021 elec copy

Lori L. Gorney
2015 to present

Lori Gorney was appointed to the Saginaw Township Board of Trustees in September, 2015 to serve out an unexpired term.  Lori is a licensed cosmetologist and a 1997 graduate of Delta College, with an Associate’s Degree in Marketing Management.  Lori has been employed at Saginaw Gold and Diamond Center since 1993.  Gorney has served as Election Inspector since 2007.  She also has been involved in many community activities, including the Saginaw Township Citizen’s Police Academy. 


Jon R. Howell
2012 to present

Jon Howell is the owner/operator of Lock Tight Storage and Sign.  He is a 1980 graduate of Central Michigan University with a Business degree in Marketing.  Jon has held positions with Armstrong World Industries, Heinz USA, Crossmark, and LB Transportation-Omni Warehouse as Sales Manager.  He is a current Kochville DDA board member and a long time participant and board member with the Can-Amera games.  He is also an executive board member with Saginaw Township Soccer Association as director of Public Relations.  Jon serves as director of Party on McCarty and is involved with community organizations that include the Fordney Club, the Saginaw Township Business Association, and American Legion #439 as a S.A.L. member.